night shift

So, this is day 18 of NaBloPoMo, and I’ve managed to keep the habit going except for the one night I was unable to get online or have access to WordPress. Week-and-a-half left. Have I written only great stuff? No. Some of it’s been utter crap. But I’ve written. Will I be able to keep up the habit regularly once the month’s over? Honestly, I don’t know. I know that I want to, but regular writing habits have always been hard for me to maintain, no matter the desire or good intentions. And I know that I should keep it up, that in order to get better I need to practice, that, well, in order to write, I need to write. [Duh.]

I’ve been tired. [I know, I know, the usual excuses, and everybody else is tired, too.] The other day, I dowsed off for a second while sitting next to The Button watching Super Why and eating her lunch. Here’s the thing. I’m not a night person. I never pulled all-nighters during college, because I knew nothing productive would come of it. We usually go to bed by 11, if not before, after winding down in front of the television. I haven’t gone to sleep at the same time as la dra. since the month began. Not like I’m staying up that late—12:30 at the latest, usually earlier than that. The one other time I tried to write on the laptop before bedtime, I stared at a new blank post composition window for an hour. Right now, I’m writing on the laptop, before 10 p.m., with the t.v. on, across from la dra.

It’s a time management quandary. Write at night, after everyone’s asleep, and I have the quiet but a fried brain. Try to write during the day, and I have to figure out how to fit it into my daily schedule of family obligations. Others do it. I just haven’t figure out how to make it work for myself—yet.

But I want to.

About Jason Sperber

Jason Sperber is a stay-at-home-dad of 2 daughters and a writer in Bakersfield, California. He blogs (very infrequently) at daddy in a strange land and co-founded Rice Daddies, the group blog by Asian American dads, and is the resident hapa Trekkie at The Nerds Of Color. Follow him on Twitter at @dad_strangeland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to night shift

  1. Music seems to inspire a lot of writing for me. 🙂 Maybe try that? I know what you mean though, I work a lot of hours and most of the time I’m inspired to write a great piece (Great in my mind. lol ) I’m at work or on the road… Music does help though 🙂

Leave a Reply

